Mastodon to release ‘Cold Dark Place’ EP featuring four previously unreleased tracks

Mastodon has announced a new EP featuring four previously unreleased tracks via Reprise Records. Cold Dark Place will be available digitally and on CD on September 22, followed by the release of a limited-edition 10” vinyl picture disc on October 27. You can pre-order the EP here.

Three of the tracks, North Side Star, Blue Walsh, and Cold Dark Place, were recorded during the sessions for Mastodon’s 2014 album Once More ‘Round The Sun and were produced by Nick Raskulinecz. Toe to Toes – which has been released as a stand-alone track from the EP – was recorded during the sessions for the band’s most recent album, 2016’s Emperor of Sand, and was produced by Brendan O’Brien.

Watch a behind-the-scenes mini-doc on Beckett and the making of the Cold Dark Place cover art.



Mastodon’s eighth studio album Emperor of Sand entered the ARIA chart at #3, the band’s highest debut in AU to date. It also debuted at #1 on Billboard’s Top Album Sales Chart, marking the band’s biggest sales debut in their history. Emperor of Sand debuted at #7 on the Billboard Top 200 Albums Chart and marked the band’s third consecutive album to enter into the Billboard Top Ten, including Once More ‘Round the Sun (#7 ARIA) and The Hunter (#18 ARIA). Emperor Of Sand also gave the band the biggest international debut of their career with first week chart position highs in multiple countries.

The track-listing for Cold Dark Place

  1. North Side Star
  2. Blue Walsh
  3. Toe to Toes
  4. Cold Dark Place

Mastodon - Cold Dark Place

About The Rockpit 1602 Articles

The Rockpit is a music media company based in Australia that services worldwide featuring interviews, news and reviews of bands, live gigs and anything to do with the world of rock and metal. The Rockpit also promotes and manages bands under the Rockpit label & management banner and offers advertising and PR for bands and anyone needing publicity.