The Rock Pit - Hard rock, Metal and Blues Interviews, news & reviews from Australia and around the world

The Rock Pit - Hard rock, Metal and Blues Interviews, news & reviews from Australia and around the world

black country communion

BLack country

Released October 2010




1. "Black Country"
2. "One Last Soul"
3. "The Great Divide"
4. "Down Again"
5. "Beggarman"
6. "Song of Yesterday"
7. "No Time"
8. "Medusa"
9. "The Revolution in Me"
10. "Stand (At the Burning Tree)"
11. "Sista Jane"
12. "Too Late for the Sun"

Limited Edition 2-Disc CD/DVD


Featuring the 12 album tracks on CD, complete with an additional DVD jam-packed with band member interviews, exclusive studio and live images, Kevin Shirley’s (Aerosmith, Led Zeppelin, Black Crowes) album production notes, “The Great Divide” music video, ‘Behind The Scenes’ in-studio footage, plus live tracks as performed by BCC at Riverside, California.


Black Country is the debut release by the English-American rock group Black Country Communion. The group took their name from the English industrial area where both Hughes and Bonham hail from ( and also from where I was born and bred ) with the anticipation of its release on the 22nd of September. Black country lives up to the hype and does not disappoint, what you get here is 12 solid rock/ hard blues songs of the finest order with Hughes in particular on fire and in better voice than ever.


Jason Bonham’s drumming is spot on and works so well with Hughes’s thundering bass guitar and with Bonamassa’s bluesy guitar work, emphasises the quality of this album. Sherinian’s keyboard work’s largely and plays a subtle supporting role which add just the right balance to this outstanding album.

Highlights include the fantastic opener ‘Black Country‘, the epic ‘Song Of Yesterday’ and a reworking of the classic ‘Medusa’ from Hughes’ days in Trapeze, which sees Bonamassa wielding the late Mel Galley’s “Black Beauty” Les Paul guitar to astonishing effect. ‘One Last Soul’ is a catchy first single, ‘Sista Jane’ starts off like AC/DC before taking an unexpected turn into ‘The Who’ territory.


It’s hard to believe these guys never really played together (Derek had never heard Joe Bonamassa play until they were together in the studio!) and after seven days huddled with Kevin Shirley, an album of this quality could be produced. Hughes is so proud of this material he’s been quoted that tracks are already in progress for the follow up album so lets hope its as good as the first or as they say in the black country it’s “bostin!!”


Paul Hadlington