The Rock Pit - Hard rock, Metal and Blues Interviews, news & reviews from Australia and around the world

The Rock Pit - Hard rock, Metal and Blues Interviews, news & reviews from Australia and around the world




MARCH 31 2014



I love Lacuna Coil and have been lucky enough to see them live a couple of times over the years, most memorably headlining a great line up at a capacity show the House of Blues in Vegas a few years back. As far as albums go I’ve always seen Lacuna Coil as a band that constantly push themselves and often amaze. The focus, perhaps understandably is the striking beauty and voice of Cristina Scabbia who resonates with me so strongly and never fails to add richness to the music.


Following two years after the high charting ‘Dark Adrenaline’ which really broke new ground for the band ‘Broken Crown Halo’ is an album eagerly anticipated by many and the real question is how will they add to their solid legacy on their seventh studio album, after headline dates and some great supports slots for the like of Megadeth, Motorhead and Volbeat.


As a band the Modern Melodic Gothic Metal sound has always had as its core the solid dual leads of Scabbia and Andrea Ferro, and it’s that great strength that again exceeds expectations here.


Lyrically ‘Broken Crown Halo’ takes us into a very real modern world with all its limitations and injustices, and combining that with a mythology that is often dark and brooding the two worlds combine to produce some rich metaphors and allusions. Lacuna Coil bring a strength and a feeling that you can triumph over the adversity that life throws out at you and reclaim that metaphorical ‘Broken Crown Halo’. Add to the mix a more pronounced cinematic feel than ever before and we have ourselves something special.


Opening with the roar of the inspiring “Nothing Stands In Our Way” and the melodic wave of “Zombies”, all the themes and the feel of the album are established early and the light Scabbia only vocal of “Hostage to the Light” is a nice early counterpoint.


Getting into the meat of the album the anthem “Die & Rise” is a real highpoint. That’s immediately followed by another – the sweeping and slightly bitter-sweet “I Forgive (But I Won’t Forget Your Name).”


It’s a great album already but ends just as strongly with the power and beauty of “Infection”; the lighter moments of “I Burn in You” and the keyboard led “One Cold Day” which seems to encapsulate the themes of the album whilst showcasing a lean and hungry Lacuna Coil who now seem capable of capitalising on years of hard work and taking on the world.


Musically this is lighter territory for Lacuna Coil but the juxtaposition of their trademark light and shade vocals and delivery has never seemed more vibrant or alive.



LACUNA COIL – “Broken Crown Halo”

01. Nothing Stands in Our Way (4:09)
02. Zombies (3:47)
03. Hostage To The Light (3:56)
04. Victims (4:32)
05. Die & Rise (3:45)
06. I Forgive (But I Won't Forget Your Name) (3:56)
07. Cybersleep (4:26)
08. Infection (4:23)
09. I Burn In You (4:15)
10. In The End I Feel Alive (4:21)
11. One Cold Day (6:10)


Cristina Scabbia – vocals
Andrea Ferro – vocals
Marco “Maus” Biazzi – guitar
Cristiano “Pizza” Migliore – guitar
Marco “Maki” Coti-Zelati – bass
Cristiano “Criz” Mozzati – drums




by Mark Diggins