The Rock Pit - Hard rock, Metal and Blues Interviews, news & reviews from Australia and around the world

The Rock Pit - Hard rock, Metal and Blues Interviews, news & reviews from Australia and around the world











Oni Logan – vocals
George Lynch – guitar
Robbie Crane – bass
Scott Coogan – drums


Track Listing:
1. Slow Drag
2. World of Chance
3. City of Freedom
4. Sucka


“Sound Mountain Sessions” is a straight forward, gritty, well-polished American hard rock offering from legendary LYNCH MOB, that truly captures the magic of their genre. It’s got bite, it’s got soul, and lyrically, Oni Logan holds nothing back on this one! Recorded in the traditional “old school” way, the band locked themselves into Sound Mountain Studios for a week straight and put their ideas in the capable engineering hands of Chris “The Wizard” Collier. With nothing more than the desert rats as their audience, a steady intake of ramen noodles, and their passion for Rock and Roll, the band gave birth to “Sound Mountain Sessions”, a four song EP that rivals their previous work from the early years.


Another fantastic element about these new songs is the addition of bassist Robbie Crane, who brings solid grooves and melodic backing vocals to each track (a little known fact: Robbie was actually the very first bass player of Lynch Mob!). George Lynch does what George Lynch has always done best in this amazing release - he plugs in his guitar and then taps into the universal energy that only the elite guitar gods have access to....and delivers the goods. “Sound Mountain Sessions”, is a powerful EP that introduces you to the next chapter / best chapter yet, of these legendary rockers. Featured tracks include: "Slow Drag", "World of Chance", "City of Freedom", and "Sucka". Official release date is set for August 7, 2012.





Don’t you love it when you read a press release that really piques your interest and then you drop in the CD and it delivers!


What we have here is the follow up to the rather good 2009 ‘Smoke and Mirrors’ album by Lynch Mob, it may be only an EP and only 4 tracks long, but the songs contained within could sit nicely on that previous release. Of course you get Lynch’s bluesy, hard rock sound set against some really great vocals from Oni Logan but with the addition of Crane and Coogan we also get a solid rhythm section and some great backing vocals from the man with the bass. Couple that with some particularly crisp production and  some great songs and it’s a sure-fire winner.


When first listening to opening track ‘Slow Drag’ (which is probably my personal favourite here) you realise immediately that you have you hands on something special. Coming across with the vibe and the feel of a great lost Badlands song, Oni is at his bleeding-heart-blues best. It’s a song that you know will stay with you for a long time and not just another flavour of the week. The tone is amazing and classic Lynch, but the song itself is so well crafted that you are already slightly disappointed that this isn’t a long-player!


What might surprise some is how adventurous the EP is as a whole, not content to merely sit on a great bluesy vibe ‘World of Chance’ has space and dynamics, a killer chorus and some truly amazing rhythm work from George.  Trademark Lynch Mob.


‘Cry of Freedom’ is built on the backline that really showcases the rhythm section and again Logan is on fire vocally. It’s classy, classic hard rock.


‘Sucka’ takes us through murkier waters, more frenetic, heavier and with a spectacular solo it’s altogether different from the feeling we got coming in and for that all the more satisfying.  


If this is a taste of what might be to come from Lynch Mob everyone will be getting on board for the next release. This is some of the best music I will hear this year without a doubt.


Available from:




By Mark Diggins