The Rock Pit - Hard rock, Metal and Blues Interviews, news & reviews from Australia and around the world

The Rock Pit - Hard rock, Metal and Blues Interviews, news & reviews from Australia and around the world



Release date to be confirmed 2012





1. Make it sick
2. She's just a liar
3. New York Queen/ London whore
4. Nu-sonic plague
5. Bad woman
6. Ruby roulette
7. Bittersweet
8. Fakin' it
9. Underground detention
10. Somebody up there hates me
11. Bleeding eyes




Michael Wagener has done wonders, and that is what most strikes you after a few listens to Babyjane’s second album. The production here is top notch and as a result sonically the band is on fire throughout. Not only that though, the band has actually taken a leap forward as song-writers and created a gem. Whilst I liked Babyjane’s first release ‘Are You Listening’ and loved some of the songs on it, I always felt that it lacked a little consistency, if not cohesion. With ‘Make It Sick’ everything seems to have clicked into place.



Take the opening track and title track ‘Make It Sick’ that kicks us off. Opening with a musical box playing Greensleeves before the drums throw us right into the middle of a rock and roll riot that has a good deal of punk in the mix. It’s a huge statement to throw down first up. But if your taste lies anywhere in the land between the Ramones and Skid Row then you will be listening.



‘She’s Just a Liar’, that follows the explosive opening, is one of the tracks that really stands out for me, it manages to capture the rhythm and melody that made late eighties rock so accessible but gives it a modern slant.



Musically I love the sleaze punk vibe of ‘New York Queen/ London whore’ which is one of my favourite tracks here. Sonically it’s got elements of those cool rocked-up punk bands like New York Dolls and Hanoi Rocks, but playing a straight ahead no frills rock and roll.



Another favourite is ‘Nu-sonic plague’ (still no idea what a nu sonic plague is but it’s probably going to contribute to global warming) which has the chorus to raise the roof live. And is one that you just have to hear if you’re into that downloading nonsense!



One of the only tracks that doesn’t immediately stand tall is the ballad ‘Bad Woman’ which just lacks a little, but is almost redeemed entirely by a great chorus and great solo. It’s a song that looks back to classic rock and it’s probably the only song here that I feel has been a little undersold.



If you are still sat on the fence then Track 6 ‘Ruby Roulette’ goes a long way to sealing the deal – its melodic sleaze that has a hook that makes you wonder why music like this went out of fashion – ever! More like this and maybe, it’s on the way back. It’s a great song and its worth nothing that Andy’s voice is perhaps at it’s best here, which more of a Sunset Strip quality to it – becoming another instrument in the overall musical picture, along with the pounding drums and some great thrusting guitars; but it’s a groove created by the bass that really clicks and stays and hits you between the eyes… Definitely one of my standout tracks from the album.



‘Bittersweet’ is another one of my favourites here with the ‘Hey hey hey’ refrain that opens, backed up with a Cult-like Electric-era riff and a laid back vocal. There’s a great melodic-sleaze chorus, but again a very modern take on the genre. The breakdown soothes you into a solo that sounds both fresh and exciting. This is already sounding like the CD that you knew Babyjane was capable of making when you heard some of the jagged gems on their debut. It’s a winner and this is one of those songs that I really feel could get them airplay.



‘Fakin’ It’ has the frenetic urgency of AC/DC riff meeting a Crue-like driving vocal, a live anthem if you ever heard one and I love the gang vocals that cement the sleazy love affair the band has with the eighties rock scene.



‘Underground Detention’ takes a few chances that pay off. It builds on a riff; expands, and then when you expect it to explode it slows: it’s a nice and unexpected twist. A song that sits on a driving bass with a modern vocal and smalls like a possible cross-over for rock radio.



‘Somebody Up There hates me’ has a wonderful intro that falls back on bare bones bass and drums (great drum sound here) when the vocals kick in. It’s a song that shows the guys can distance themselves from their primary influences sonically if not in the dangerous vibe that music is driven by.



At 50 seconds long ‘Bleeding Eyes’ sounds like it would be better placed as part of an intro to another song, rather than closing us out: It’s acoustic noodling, with an experimental background echoed vocal you expect to click into an epic like “Black Diamond’ at any point. Still it’s a minor quibble only.



So to round it up, if you liked what you tasted first time round then this has only gotten sweeter: the songs better, the production  magnificent and I’m sure the boys will be extremely happy too. More great music from Western Australia.



Babyjane will be launching their new album very soon.



By Mark Rockpit